Day 7 in Taiwan

My all time favorite Taiwanese dish: beef noodle soup.

Beef noodle soup is probably the most essential food ever. You can find some variation of it at almost every restaurant or food court and there are even restaurants dedicated to just serving up all sorts of different beef noodle soups. The rich and sometimes spicy broth is just so tantalizing that you won’t be able to stop sipping away until there is nothing left. The beef noodle soup (niu rou mian/็‰›่‚‰้บต๏ผ‰was definitely the highlight of my meal at Shili’an.

Along with the niu rou mian, I ordered shrimp shaomai, xiao long bao, and a beef roll. The shrimp shaomai is also one of my favorites from Shili’an. I like to dip the shao mai into the beef broth and eat it that way instead of dipping it in soy sauce or vinegar (a little strange, but delicious anyways). Now, the xiao long bao is not the best I’ve had, but it’s also not the worst I’ve had. Definitely not something I would recommend ordering at Shili’an, but if xiao long bao is what you’re craving, I recommend Ding Tai Feng.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Photo Credit: Charlton Cheng
For dinner, I had Korean BBQ (yay!) with my brother. Since it was just the two of us, we couldn’t order too many dishes so we stuck to Galbi, sam gyupsal (pork – basically really thick bacon), and tofu chige (tofu stew). Everything was amazing, especially the galbi. The restaurant was authentic and, to top things off, had two cute cats running around greeting the customers!

To top off a perfect food day like this, I had a shaved ice dessert – a Taiwanese staple!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Photo Creds: Charlton Cheng
Shaved ice is essentially just that, shaved ice topped with all sort of toppings. The shaved ice pictured above is slightly different, it is shave milk ice, making it slightly creamy in texture and giving it a pleasant taste. After eating such heavy meals all day, I opted for a lighter, fruit based option. Strawberry shaved ice with kiwi, strawberry, mango, and panna cotta on top (yum!). Shaved ice is a MUST HAVE in Taiwan! But if you can’t make this trip, there is a food truck in Miami called Mr. Bing that serves up Taiwanese style shaved ice. I’m yet to give Mr. Bing a try but I definitely will sometime soon and let you all know just how close Mr. Bing comes to the authentic “bing.”

Subscribe to stay updated!

-Helen

โ€‹

 

โ€‹

Leave a Reply

